The Hidden Kingdom

My new novel The Hidden Kingdom is about to be published and yesterday I set out with the MB Films team, Ed Beck and Dave Mead to shoot some scenes for the book trailer in the hallowed Bourne woods a familiar location for many films, including Gladiator, Children of Men, Robin Hood etc. Indeed there was something big going on in the middle of the forest construction work and film location lorries and rumors of Johnny Depp. We were forced off the beaten track into another area full of beautiful pines and a staggering view over the landscape.
An actress had been cast as Lissa, the peasant warrior girl from the book. She is in many ways the lynch pin of the story and I wanted to feature her in the short book trailer. Yennis Cheung answered the casting call and from her photographs she looked ideal. When she actually arrived it was obvious that she was more than ideal. she was the very image of Lissa that I had in my head as I wrote the book. We spent a happy late morning filming among the trees and then spent an hour at the Royal Richmond Archery Club where Yennis weas taught by Steve from the club to fire a bow and arrow, not an easy task for such a slight figure but she managed it admirably. Photographs of the day are below, as soon as the final trailer is edited, graded and scored I will of course link to it.
_______________________

About archiebeck47

I am an author print maker and illustrator of books both for children and adults.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment